Arose By Any Other Name by George Balmer

Arose By Any Other Name

Leaving The Smoke, dirty old town,
Chancing my luck;
No smile, just a frown,
Thinking: “What the ****!”

From the Thames to the Mersey
Same shit, different river,
Cold, tired and hungry.
A thought made me shiver:

I didn’t exist, had no name;
A lost face in the crowd.
We all look the same
With our sad heads bowed.

Then somebody said:
“There’s always a way
And gave me a bed
Saying “You’ll be OK.”

I met others who helped me see;
They knew who I was
And who I could be:
At Bluecoat they opened the doors.

Thank your for songs,
For finding my voice;
My past was all wrong
But now I have choice.

I write this poem
As I go on, higher and higher.
I found a home
In your happy, anonymous choir.

By George Balmer

George Balmer is a member of the Choir With No Name Liverpool.

“It started for me from an invitation to be assistant/back up keyboard player. I was happy to do this but felt little inclination to sing. The first practice session at the Bluecoat was surprisingly enjoyable even though I only joined in the singing. The song choices were uplifting and the arrangements were fun: The women sang the lyrics to ‘Stand By Me’ whilst the men did the bass line. I also enjoyed the warm-up and ice-breakers, which were a good way to help everybody feel less self-conscious.

As the weeks have progressed the regular Wednesday evening event has become more and more a highlight of my week as the other participants are very friendly and encouraging. The meal following the singing has been a great way to get to know people and is, in my opinion, an inspired idea: The combination of music and nourishing food is hard to beat.

One thing I have been particularly impressed by is the commitment from those organising the evening: Never has a session been cancelled despite appalling weather, flu bugs or tiredness. That people choose to give up their time and energy to make a difference in the lives of those of us who are unglamorous and perhaps somewhat unpleasant is heartening and commendable.

The choir recently ‘dipped its toe in the water’ with a performance in collaboration with Sense of Sound at the re-opening of The Everyman theatre. It seemed fitting that an innovative, inclusive and eclectic venue should be the first public community event for a disengaged no-hoper such as I to attempt re-integration into the family of Liverpool’s citizenship. Well done, Choir With No Name! Power to your arm (and your voice).”

Liverpool Choir with No Name

The Liverpool Choir with No Name en masse!

AROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME


2 responses to “Arose By Any Other Name by George Balmer

Leave a comment

All Together Now...

News and views from members of the Choir With No Name